SKSD News

2016-2021 Submitted testimonials

January 8, 2016 Letter to Statesman Journal

If you are a parent worried about high-stakes testing at school, there’s something you can do about it – opt out.

The Student Assessment Bill of Rights, passed by the 2015 Oregon Legislature, requires schools to notify parents about opting student out of statewide summative testing. Administration, costs, name, type are included in the notification, along with the opt-out form and explanation. I’m opting my kids out and think you should, too.

Over the past 14 years, the national reform movement produced Common Core State Standards through the No Child Left Behind Act and local districts dutifully adopted these standards. The idea was to set federally-enforced national standards for local schools and test annually for accountability, providing a report card on the achievement gap. Under the next revision, Race to the Top, student test scores were tied to teacher evaluations.

What were the results? Standards and assessments were developed without parent or teacher input. To align with standards, Salem-Keizer School District uses instructional material downloaded from engageNY. The content is loaded with errors, omissions and typos. Annual assessments radically changed the learning environment, with much more time spent on test preparation.

Profiteers swarmed our communities, peddling unproven products with slick marketing. Pearson ReadyGen, a multi-million dollar online text material, was rolled out in half the elementary schools this year. They will be in my kids’ school next year, tracking every keystroke to measure achievement.

Massive data collection systems were created to manage this information. Student Longitudinal Data Systems track each child from birth or preschool onwards, including medical information, survey data and data from many state agencies such as the criminal justice system, child services and health departments.

After years of promises and creative destruction, little, if any, achievement gains are realized. Parents opted out hundreds of thousands of students across the nation. Many states waived or postponed enforcement. Clearly, a fix was needed to continue the reform movement.

Congress felt the pressure and enacted the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) last month, which loosens assessment requirements by shifting enforcement to states. This allows the opportunity for more local control. The result of compromise, the law opens the door for communities to develop their own standards.

Input from parents is crucial as state education leaders develop state standards. Oregon needs to qualify for the ESSA pilot for teacher-driven assessments that include creativity, collaboration, critical thinking and communication skills. Performance-based standards should replace Common Core State Standards.

The facts are against annual testing. No other advanced country does this to their children. Only conduct mandated ESSA assessments or stop annual testing all together. Stop the use of federal funding to finance online testing systems. Untie student performance from teacher evaluation and remove Student Learning Goals. Apply for Title II funding to research a teacher’s workplace condition. Keep our data local. These issues bear discussion.

Please talk to your school and elected officials and tell them your concerns about Common Core and annual testing, then opt-out.

Ross Swartzendruber is a parent and owner of Black Sheep Advertising, Inc., in Salem. He also serves as Straub Middle School Music Boosters.

January 12, 2016 Salem-Keizer School Board meeting testimony

Parents worry about high-stakes testing at school and there’s something you can do about it – opt out.

This year, the Student Assessment Bill of Rights requires schools to notify parents about opting students out of statewide summative testing.

Administration, costs, name, type are to be included in the notification, along with the opt-out form and explanation.

I’m opting my kids out and I’d like to tell you why.

Standards and assessments were developed without parent or teacher input. Text materials from engageNY are loaded with errors. Pearson ReadyGen will be in every elementary school next year, tracking every keystroke to measure achievement.

Massive data collection systems exist to manage this information. Student Longitudinal Data Systems track each child from birth or preschool onwards, including medical information, survey data and data from many state agencies such as the criminal justice system, child services and health departments.

Parents opted out hundreds of thousands of students across the nation. Many states waived or postponed enforcement. Parent resistance to outside control over schools caused Congress to enact the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) last month, which loosens assessment requirements by shifting enforcement to states. This allows the opportunity for more local control. The result of compromise, the law opens the door for communities to develop their own standards.

Input from parents is crucial as education leaders develop state standards. Oregon needs to qualify for the ESSA pilot for teacher-driven assessments that include creativity, collaboration, critical thinking and communication skills. Performance-based standards should replace Common Core State Standards. Only conduct mandated ESSA assessments or stop annual testing all together. These issues bear discussion.

The facts are against annual testing. No other advanced country does this to their children. Annual assessments radically change the learning environment, creating test-centered schools. Stop the use of federal funding to finance online testing systems. Untie student performance from teacher evaluation and remove Student Learning Goals. Apply for Title II funding to research a teacher’s workplace condition. Keep our data local.

Please make sure that parents are notified about the February 1 deadline and tell them the costs of test-centered schools.

May 22, 2017

My name is Ross Swartzendruber. I am a taxpayer and parent of three children in the Salem-Keizer School District. I am writing in opposition to funding any personalized learning software or 1:1 Chromebooks as proposed in the 2017-18 budget. Personalized learning software like McGraw Hill’s Redbird may be included in General Fund Object Code 470 Computer Software ($1,999,780) and 1:1 Chromebooks in 480 Computer Hardware ($1,426,135).

These types of computer software and hardware purchases fail to improve student outcomes and create too many risks for our children and communities. More screen time means increased risk of obesity. Screen time reduces opportunities to engage in multiple learning styles like kinesthetics, verbal, environmental and especially social. Loss of socialization disconnects learners from face-to-face communication and nonverbal emotional cues. Research from University of California, Los Angeles, claims that increased screen time may be inhibiting students’ ability to recognize emotion. Tablet use has been linked to pain developing in children’s fingers and wrists, narrowed blood vessels in their eyes and neck and back pain from poor posture.

Some experts believe that “Children who are heavy users of electronics may become adept at multitasking, but they can lose the ability to focus on what is most important, a trait critical to the deep thought and problem solving needed for many jobs and other endeavors later in life.” . An adrenaline driven mentality to learning (like addiction). As one psychologist’s research findings prove, “As a practitioner, I observe that many of the children I see suffer from sensory overload, lack of restorative sleep, and a hyper-aroused nervous system, regardless of diagnosis—what I call electronic screen syndrome.These children are impulsive, moody, and can’t pay attention…excessive screen-time appears to impair brain structure and function. Much of the damage occurs in the brain’s frontal lobe, which undergoes massive changes from puberty until the mid-twenties.”

Data privacy is also major concern. Before you approve these unproven technologies, please provide peer-reviewed empirical evidence that funding personalized learning software or 1:1 Chromebooks will improve student outcomes.

June 13 2017

Chair Roblan and Senate Education Committee members,

My name is Ross Swartzendruber. I am a taxpayer and parent of three children in the Salem-Keizer School District. I am writing in opposition to SB 437, which establishes an education savings account program.

Public schools were created by communities and states for a civic purpose, to build and sustain democracy. Educating the younger generation about how to live and work with others is a public responsibility, shared by all. Education savings account programs (vouchers) undermine public education, circumvent our state constitution and always fail when put to a popular vote.

The first voucher program in the U.S. started in Milwaukie, WI, in 1990, through legislative action. By 1998, religious schools were allowed into the program. Based on Wisconsin state tests, voucher schools performed no better than public schools. Competition failed to improve public schools, drained funding and weakened them. The program resulted in high staff turnover, low student proficiency and cost between $40-50 million.

No evidence was found by a Congressionally-mandated evaluation that the Opportunity Scholarship (Voucher) Program, a Washington, D.C. voucher program, affected student achievement.

In 2006, the Florida Supreme Court ruled their opportunity scholarship grant program (vouchers) unconstitutional.

Any existing U.S. voucher programs were installed by legislatures circumventing their own constitution and the will of the voters. As legislators, I’m sure you’re aware that the public overwhelmingly opposes funding religious schools regardless of the program name; education savings account, opportunity scholarship or voucher. Voters have repeatedly made it clear that they do not want religious schools to receive public education funding.

Please vote no on SB 437.

June 22, 2017

Dear Chair Martinez, Jr. and Members of the Oregon State Board of Education:

I am writing in support of the State Board of Education’s Proposed Mission, Vision and Values on today’s agenda. The mission to promote educational practices that lead directly to every student’s success should be a priority and your vision to work with stakeholders to empower students has already been demonstrated by the decision to drop SBAC testing from 11th grade. Thank you for having the courage to make that decision.

Concerning values, eliminating barriers to equity should be prioritized, like the elimination of grade 3-8 testing that has only widened the achievement gap of our students, especially those most vulnerable. Student centered actions should not include personalized learning. The education community deserves a discussion about the meaning, potential effects and costs of personalized learning. This discussion would also be in line with integrity and transparency. Privacy issues concerning the use of our children’s data for social emotional learning benchmarks or commercial marketing deserves discussion.

Creativity remains the only solution to our future. When promoting innovation, please value human creativity and ignore the false promises offered by technology, supporting human instruction over machine learning.

Again, your commitment to inclusion has already been demonstrated by the decision to defund SBAC. Please continue to explore the roots of standardized testing and concerns about the use of prescriptive analytics on students. This leads to homogenization, contrary to valuing multiple perspectives. It has already affected Salem demographics.

Adaptability should prioritize human instruction over machine learning when considering a change to social, operational or financial conditions. Refuse to allow “any place, any time” technology fads to liquidate our community assets, like buildings and property. This destroys public education and our democracy.

Again, thank you for listening to parents and defunding SBAC Please finish the job and allow other assessments for grades 3-8. I have included images from a recent talk about personalized learning that may be of interest. The full presentation may be seen at:

July 4, 2017

Dear Chair Burdick and Members of the Senate Committee on Rules:

I am writing in opposition to SB 803, especially provisions to fund education innovation programs from the State School Fund. As a taxpayer and father of three children attending public schools, I have seen the failure of education technology firsthand. Personalized learning, online charters and standardized testing have only widened the achievement gap, while allowing for racketeering and fraud.

Currently, our tax dollars are spent on television advertising for online charters, despite their embarrassing failure rates for Oregon students. Is this innovative? Oregon taxpayers have yet to hear the definition of personalized learning and yet our children used to test gameification software like McGraw Hill’s Redbird at school and home.

None of these methods relies on empirical data, only the false promise of improving humanity through data-driven efficiencies.

Please refuse to allow more waste and fraud and vote no on SB 803.

October 23, 2017

Dear mayor and councilors,

My name is Ross Swartzendruber, President of Salem Creative Network which is located at 365 Ferry St SE downtown. I am speaking tonight in favor of resolution 3.2a – a grant approval to the Salem Main Street Association to further economic promotion activity within the Downtown Parking District.

Salem Creative Network was organized in 2009 to provide creative solutions through social innovation. Removing barriers to market growth downtown became one area of our educational efforts. After a few years of market-testing, two areas of development were identified; creation of entertainment-friendly policies and targeted public funding.

In 2012, we invited Jim Peters of the Responsible Hospitality Institute to speak about the process of creating an entertainment district in Salem. His organization helped create dozens of entertainment districts in North America, including Austin, Seattle and Nashville. Salem was identified as a nascent night time economy, needing improvements in political will and noise policy to grow.

With the move to provide Parking Tax fund promotional grants to local organizations, it appears that political will now favors growing the night time economy.

The downtown parking tax fund was established primarily to provide funding for downtown promotions. Since the dissolution of the Economic Improvement District, promotional grants to organizations from the Parking Tax Fund have dwindled from $100,000 to $0.

Approving a grant for the Salem Main Street Association would begin to restore targeted funding for downtown promotions. And since the parking tax funding has grown to over $1,000,000, Salem Creative Network recommends increasing the grant value to $100,000 for FY 2017-18.

In addition, Salem Creative Network asks all interested parties to help the City of Salem create an Entertainment District that allows daytime noise levels of 70dB until midnight without extra permitting.

A Salem Entertainment District would leverage accommodations, food services, arts, entertainment and recreation as cultural amenities that attract a higher density downtown, help new and small businesses and create a city where people stay and grow.

Please approve resolution 3.2a, allow other organizations to apply for parking tax grants and start an open process to create the Salem Entertainment District. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Ross Swartzendruber

President

Salem, Creative Network

365 Ferry St SE

Salem, OR 97301

Salem Keizer School District testimony 02/25/2020

Ross Swartzendruber Parent, Salem-Keizer School District ross@salemcreative.net

Chair Heyen, Superintendent Perry and Board Directors,

I would like to offer testimony concerning the validity of the underlying data of student assessments included in the Student Investment Account proposal. Here is my response from Deputy Superintendent Gill about my children’s Individual Student Report

Errant Assessment Score Report

Mr. Swartzendruber-

Thank you for your testimony yesterday. I wanted to let you know that our assessment team looked into the issue right away. I want to reassure you that ODE does not have any records/scores for your children for 2018-19, which is how it should be as you opted them out of the assessment that year. We reached out to Salem Keizer School District at the form you shared is one that the district developed. The district agrees that your children did not participate in the assessment. Their system was pulling the student’s cut score from the last time that they took the assessment (i.e., before they opted out) and moving that scaled score forward as the score for the current year (while at the same time updating the performance level descriptors and cut score ranges so that they were grade appropriate). This explains the documentation you presented, as well the concerns expressed in your testimony. I believe the district is aware of the situation and is close to having it resolved, but please feel free to reach out to them if you have questions.

Thanks, Colt

This may explain how the errant assessment score occurred. However, my children and I have yet to understand why an errant assessment score is following them 5 years later.

Please provide the actual algorithm and decision process that led to including errant assessment score on their permanent records prior to approval of the SIA proposal

Oregon State Board of Education testimony 05/21/2020

Ross Swartzendruber

Parent, Salem-Keizer School District

ross@salemcreative.net

Chair Veliz, Deputy Superintendent Gill and Board Directors,

I would like to thank Deputy Superintendent Gill for the decision to discontinue the Oregon Kindergarten Assessment. Please consider making it permanent. Also, waiving the Smarter Balanced Assessment was a long overdue action and should be made permanent.

As offered in my February testimony, fake scores are in the Salem-Keizer system. I would like to thank Deputy Superintendent Gill for the following explanation:

Errant Assessment Score Report

Mr. Swartzendruber-

Thank you for your testimony yesterday. I wanted to let you know that our assessment team looked into the issue right away. I want to reassure you that ODE does not have any records/scores for your children for 2018-19, which is how it should be as you opted them out of the assessment that year. We reached out to Salem Keizer School District at the form you shared is one that the district developed. The district agrees that your children did not participate in the assessment. Their system was pulling the student’s cut score from the last time that they took the assessment (i.e., before they opted out) and moving that scaled score forward as the score for the current year (while at the same time updating the performance level descriptors and cut score ranges so that they were grade appropriate). This explains the documentation you presented, as well the concerns expressed in your testimony. I believe the district is aware of the situation and is close to having it resolved, but please feel free to reach out to them if you have questions.

Thanks,

Colt

I am concerned that these errant assessment scores will now be generated for all Oregon students for Smarter Balanced Assessments, not just those verified in Salem Keizer Public Schools. As the fake scores are generated by unknown algorithms, at what point does the system need students at all?

Most Continuous Improvement Plans are based on SBA, EZCBM, iReady. Those are now useless for at least two years. In addition to useless benchmarks, the forced alternative of Distance Learning for All gives families the absolute worst performing learning model. And invades our privacy. Please consider terminating all distance learning, blended learning and other wasteful, invasive technologies to Oregon families.

Please consider creating community-based outcome measurements based in reality when convening your upcoming assessment work group.

Thank you.

September 16, 2020

Chair Howard, Directors and Deputy Superintendent Gill,

I am offering testimony about item 4.a concerning implementation of Executive Order 20-29.

In subsection 7a of the order, both “equitable access to high quality continuous education” and “may use transportation grant funds from the State School Fund for the purposes of providing student access to distance learning and educational materials” seem unattainable with current ODE, OHA and Salem-Keizer School District policies.

Parents are given the choice of Edgenuity, Florida Virtual School (FLVS) and Canvas software products for their child’s education tracking. Each of these are problematic for different reasons. Primarily, Edgenuity and Canvas are owned by private equity firms and FLVS has no stable governing board.

Concerning Edgenuity, normally used for course recovery, algorithms or answer keys are are easily available for students on the internet. Edgenuity shows little effectiveness for learning and flawed robograding algorithms seem to cause racial inequities in education.

Gaming The Grade: How One Middle Schooler Beat A Virtual Learning Algorithm

https://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2020/09/03/online-learning-algorithm

Edgenuity Anwer Keys

LAUSD’s credit recovery program boosts grad rates, but do students learn?

http://laschoolreport.com/lausds-credit-recovery-program-boosts-grad-rates-but-do-students-learn/

Flawed Algorithms Are Grading Millions of Students’ Essays

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/pa7dj9/flawed-algorithms-are-grading-millions-of-students-essays

Robot Teachers, Racist Algorithms, and Disaster Pedagogy

http://hackeducation.com/2020/09/03/racist-robots

A Seventh Grader Kicks Edgenuity’s Dumb Robograding Butt

http://curmudgucation.blogspot.com/2020/09/a-seventh-grader-kicks-edgenuitys-dumb.html

Concerning Florida Virtual School, it’s a hot mess. With expansion under unstable governance, this software product should be disallowed.

FLVS Frustrations: Massive Investment, Massive Expansion, No Governance

Florida Virtual School faces leadership crisis after resignation, investigations, unexpected death

https://www.orlandosentinel.com/news/os-ne-kruppenbacher-takeover-flvs-20190411-story.html

Concerning Instructure, owner of learning management system Canvas, control by private equity will result in maximized profits through more consolidation and concentration at students’ expense in addition to increased surveillance.

Instructure Announces New CEO After Completion of Thoma Bravo Acquisition 

Instructure CEO to Resign and Board Approves New Private Equity Deal

https://www.edsurge.com/news/2020-02-18-instructure-ceo-resigns-and-board-approves-new-private-equity-deal

Remote learning is turning classrooms into police states

Virtual classrooms make punishment easier to dole out than connection. It doesn’t have to be this way

https://www.salon.com/2020/09/06/remote-learning-is-turning-classrooms-into-police-states/

I understand the difficulties in implementing these policies, however, increasing private control of education threatens democracy and we’re experiencing the results of these policies now.

Please consider other methods of education and waive annual testing.

September 22, 2020

Salem-Keizer School Board testimony September 22, 2020

Chair Chandragiri, Directors and Superintendent Perry,

I am offering testimony in support of item 4.a , the adoption of Safe and Welcoming Schools.

Specifically, I am again identifying policies that cause and contribute to opportunity gaps, success gaps, and racism in Salem-Keizer curricula. Upon approval of Resolution 202021-1, these policies should be eradicated from district instruction.

In August, parents were given the choice of Edgenuity, Florida Virtual School (FLVS) and Canvas software products for their child’s education tracking. Each of these are problematic for different reasons. Primarily, Edgenuity and Canvas are owned by private equity firms and FLVS has no stable governing board.

Concerning Edgenuity, normally used for course recovery, algorithms or answer keys are are easily available for students on the internet. Edgenuity shows little effectiveness for learning and flawed robograding algorithms seem to cause racial inequities in education.

Gaming The Grade: How One Middle Schooler Beat A Virtual Learning Algorithm

https://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2020/09/03/online-learning-algorithm

Edgenuity Anwer Keys

LAUSD’s credit recovery program boosts grad rates, but do students learn?

http://laschoolreport.com/lausds-credit-recovery-program-boosts-grad-rates-but-do-students-learn/

Flawed Algorithms Are Grading Millions of Students’ Essays

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/pa7dj9/flawed-algorithms-are-grading-millions-of-students-essays

Robot Teachers, Racist Algorithms, and Disaster Pedagogy

http://hackeducation.com/2020/09/03/racist-robots

A Seventh Grader Kicks Edgenuity’s Dumb Robograding Butt

http://curmudgucation.blogspot.com/2020/09/a-seventh-grader-kicks-edgenuitys-dumb.html

Concerning Florida Virtual School, it’s a hot mess. With expansion under unstable governance, this software product should be disallowed.

FLVS Frustrations: Massive Investment, Massive Expansion, No Governance

Florida Virtual School faces leadership crisis after resignation, investigations, unexpected death

https://www.orlandosentinel.com/news/os-ne-kruppenbacher-takeover-flvs-20190411-story.html

Concerning Instructure, owner of learning management system Canvas, control by private equity will result in maximized profits through more consolidation and concentration at students’ expense in addition to increased surveillance.

Instructure Announces New CEO After Completion of Thoma Bravo Acquisition 

Instructure CEO to Resign and Board Approves New Private Equity Deal

https://www.edsurge.com/news/2020-02-18-instructure-ceo-resigns-and-board-approves-new-private-equity-deal

Remote learning is turning classrooms into police states

Virtual classrooms make punishment easier to dole out than connection. It doesn’t have to be this way

https://www.salon.com/2020/09/06/remote-learning-is-turning-classrooms-into-police-states/

I understand the difficulties in implementing these policies, however, increasing private control of education threatens democracy and we’re experiencing the results of these policies now.

Please consider other methods of education and waive annual testing.

Ross Swartzendrtuber

Parent

Salem-Keizer School District

September 26, 2020

Chair Chandragiri, Directors and Superintendent Perry,

Do you remember the College and Career Ready campaign a few years back? Oregon was one of four states that never submitted College and Career Readiness outcome measurements to the US Department of Education for the annual state report card. All the time and energy spent creating and implementing years of policy were unfruitful.

Fast forward to the Student Success Act campaign – years of developing policy ended with the district and Board choosing outcome measurements based on SBAC, EasyCBM and iReady, that, due to our current reality are impossible to obtain.

Now, the next big campaign, Comprehensive Distance Learning, has been initiated. Parents are expected to provide internet access for their children to sit in front of a screen all day. Our community is forced to standardize instruction according to software owned by private equity firms.

If you’re unfamiliar with private equity firm business models, take a look at JC Penneys downtown or Sears and Toys ‘R’ Us on Lancaster. Private equity maximizes profit at our students’ expense, leveraging our community’s data to create even more inequity here. They take money and data out of our community and use it to divide us.

I’ve been speaking to you about these issues for more than 10 years and each new campaign seems to damage to our community more. Critical thinking and civic education have been de-emphasized in favor of teaching to high-stakes tests. 20 years of standardization and normalization have deadened our community.

Is there a connection between Salem-Keizer School District education policy and events unfolding in our community?

Outcome-based education with edtech may contribute to our inability to control the spread of COVID in Marion County (now at 11.4%) or contain political violence on Salem streets.

Race-based outcome measurements through high-stakes testing do not make students college and career ready in a dysfunctional job market. They don’t make successful students during a pandemic.

We need outcome measurements that actually exist in our community instead of a on a real estate spreadsheet.

Chair Chandragiri, what is the status of your proposed outcome measurement standing committee? Should we expect the same results that we got from the proposed voting committee last year?

Again, I advocate for local outcome measurements like community service hours or voter participation and would like you to consider my participation in your proposed standing committee.

Thanks you for your time.

October 13, 2020

Chair Chandragiri, directors and superintendent Perry.

I am providing testimony regarding agenda item 4b. Approval of Student Investment Account. Specifically I am interested in the targeted outcomes of Strategies, 1, 6, and 9.

Strategy #1

The targeted outcome will be improved reading scores and language acquisition growth for elementary students

Strategy #6

The targeted outcomes will be a greater sense of belonging for students and more targeted supports for students demonstrating more extreme behaviors.

Targeted outcome is increased engagement and participation, increased sense of belonging for specific student groups, and improved parent/family perceptions of schools as measured by Panorama data.

Strategy #9

Music curriculum

Is there any further clarification of these targeted outcomes? Some seem to rely on local measurements which I find encouraging. Please provide more information about these outcome measurements

Strategy #6 includes budgeting for EDGE counselors

Edgenuity is a software product designed for profit, not learning.

Normally used for course recovery, algorithms or answer keys are are easily available for students on the internet.

Like online charter schools, Edgenuity shows little effectiveness for learning and flawed robograding algorithms seem to cause racial inequities in education.

Edgenuity has a known history of including racially insensitive content that is contributing to systemic racism, contains explicitly religious content, and has admitted in writing to using 11th-grade English language arts materials in its middle school social studies curriculum.”

“Teachers had no formal role” in choosing the program, It was very top-down.

An adoption of Edgenuity in Auburn, Alabama, has drawn numerous complaints from students and parents, including technical problems and a lack of communication from the company. The contract is shrouded in controversy over the recent conviction of the state’s former Speaker of the House for a $210,000 payout Edgenuity made to him while he was in office. the disgraced Speaker was found guilty of, “Receiving money from a lobbyist, subordinate of a lobbyist, or principal of Edgenuity, inc. and/or E2020 (a data provider specializing in online education software in Wetumpka) to Auburn Network.

The Edgenuity platform has long been accused of allowing students to cheat, especially in high school credit recovery programs that allow students to retake courses they failed but need for graduation.

Gaming The Grade: How One Middle Schooler Beat A Virtual Learning Algorithm

https://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2020/09/03/online-learning-algorithm

Edgenuity Anwer Keys

LAUSD’s credit recovery program boosts grad rates, but do students learn?

http://laschoolreport.com/lausds-credit-recovery-program-boosts-grad-rates-but-do-students- learn/

Flawed Algorithms Are Grading Millions of Students’ Essays

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/pa7dj9/flawed-algorithms-are-grading-millions-of-

students-essays

Robot Teachers, Racist Algorithms, and Disaster Pedagogy

http://hackeducation.com/2020/09/03/racist-robots

A Seventh Grader Kicks Edgenuity’s Dumb Robograding Butt

http://curmudgucation.blogspot.com/2020/09/a-seventh-grader-kicks-edgenuitys-

dumb.html

How much did this program cost, what was the approval process and how do we make it temporary?

Thank you for your time

October 15, 2020

Chair Howard, directors and Deputy State Superintendent Gill,

I am providing testimony supporting today’s work session, agenda item 7A. Priorities and Strategies. Thank you for all of your work on these ideas to address access and opportunity for students in Oregon. As you further develop and implement policies, please consider the following suggestions about the goals.

The focus of Strong Students is increasing graduation rates through access and opportunity for personalized learning. Personalized learning has yet to be defined by the Board. My children use Canvas, an open-source learning management system to receive instruction. 7000 Salem-Keizer students enrolled in Edge. Are these instruction methods “personalized learning”?

Online charter schools have the worst graduation, participation rates in Oregon public schools. Using these types of personalized learning as instruction methods seems counterproductive to the Strong Students goal.

Also, relying on Gallup Student Poll core factors of engagement, hope, belonging, and social and emotional learning reflects a nonlocal bias on Oregon students. Locally developed polling would address this bias.

Standards for dual lingual and bi-lingual are suggested which seems confusing. Dual language seems adequate.

Digital connectivity is extremely important for Strong Communities. E-rate funding for home connectivity, dark fiber use should be advocated. Mesh networks could extend most districts’ footprints. Unused fiber could be used for computer network training. With greater access, digital literacy will be necessary.

Equity committees are crucial for Strong Leadership. The Salem-Keizer effort was time-consuming and produced an equity lens for Board actions. However, the document faced challenges with a boundary re-draw, Student Investment Account funding requests and concerns about Student Resource Officers. Equity committees are just the beginning.

Thanks again for taking on this challenge.

March 3, 2021

Chair Dembrow, Vice-Chair Thomsen and Senate Education Committee members,

Please approve SB 744 to eliminate Oregon’s graduation testing barrier. Suspending and eliminating the Essential Learning Skills assessment requirement for a high school diploma allows more opportunities for students. Any move away from proficiency and toward completed credit hours should be considered. Thank you for acting on these policies.